The piano is a keyboard instrument....


or a percussion instrument? 

a string instrument?

a stage prop?

a piece of furniture?


For about the last 100 years, numerous composers have worked on extracting new sounds and perspectives from the all too familiar instrumental icon from the 19th century. Transcending the limits of the piano keyboard and mechanics, the strings and body of the instrument are played directly; various objects are attached that serve as preparations to change the sound, and theatrical action is integrated into the composition as visible music or critical comment.


This searching treatment of the piano has long fascinated me; it also challenges the musician to take a courageous step into unchartered pianistic terrain, to explore ever-new ways of playing, even becoming the instrument itself or a theatrical performer.


Among the canon of the general concert repertoire, works for extended piano have been largely sidelined to date. My extended piano project is therefore reversing this relationship: “normal” piano playing becomes the exception. 


In programmes that are both well-considered and sensuous experiences to an equal extent, I would like to inspire my audience with new visual and audible perspectives. The manner of presentation in the extended piano concerts is thus also unconventional: a brief, intellectually stimulating introduction is directly followed by the concert programme, which continues straight through without a break in a single dramaturgical picture. It is accompanied by a video projection from inside the piano, airing the secret behind the source of the “non-pianistic” sounds for the audience.

Das Klavier ist ein Tasteninstrument....

 

oder ein Schlaginstrument?

ein Streich-  bzw. Saiteninstrument?

ein Theaterrequisit?

ein Möbel?

 

Seit über hundert Jahren haben sich zahlreiche Komponistinnen und Komponisten damit beschäftigt, der allzu vertrauten instrumentalen Ikone des 19. Jahrhunderts neue Klänge und Perspektiven abzugewinnen. Die Grenzen der Klaviertastatur und -mechanik überschreitend werden Saiten und Korpus direkt bespielt, diverse Gegenstände als Klang verändernde Präparationen angebracht und theatralische Aktionen als sichtbare Musik oder kritischer Kommentar in die Komposition integriert.

 

Lange schon fasziniert mich dieser forschende Umgang mit dem Klavier, der auch die Interpretin dazu herausfordert, sich neugierig auf pianistisch ungesichertes Terrain vorzuwagen, das Klavierspiel immer wieder neu zu lernen, ja selbst zum Instrument oder zur Performerin zu werden.

 

Im Kanon des allgemeinen Konzertrepertoires führen Werke für extended piano bis heute ein Schattendasein. Deshalb kehre ich mit meinem extended piano project das Verhältnis um: das "normale" Klavierspiel wird zur Ausnahme.

 

In gleichermaßen durchdachten wie sinnlich erlebbaren Programmen möchte ich mein Publikum in zu neuen Blick- und Hörwinkeln inspirieren. Die Präsentationsform der extended piano Konzerte ist daher ebenfalls unkonventionell: Einer kurzen, intellektuell anregenden Einführung folgt direkt anschließend das Konzertprogramm. Dieses läuft in einem dramaturgischen Bogen ohne Pause durch und wird begleitet von einer Videoprojektion aus dem Klavierinnenraum, welche das Geheimnis des Ursprungs "unpianistischer" Klänge für das Publikum lüftet.